Ford-Rackham Master’s Award endowed in Michael Barr’s name

December 19, 2022

A new graduate fellowship has been endowed in honor of former dean Michael S. Barr, thanks to a generous lead gift from Jim Hudak (MPP ’71), chair of the Ford School Committee. The Ford-Rackham Master's Awards (RMA) are one of the Ford School’s and the University of Michigan’s highest honors. They’re awarded to graduate students underrepresented in the public policy field and with outstanding qualifications and tremendous promise. Recipients of the Michael S. Barr Ford-RMA fellowship will receive two years of full tuition, a stipend, and health and dental care.

As dean, Barr grew the number of RMAs the school offers and raised funds to endow seven of these key fellowships.

In addition to Hudak’s contribution, gifts from Joan and Sandy Weill, Hank and Liesel Meijer, Harold L. and Carol K. Kohn, and others made this endowment possible.

Interested in making a contribution to this fund? Contribute now.


More in State & Hill

Below, find the full, formatted fall 2022 edition of State & HillClick here to return to the fall 2022 S&H homepage.